Friday, April 12, 2024
16.4 C
New Jersey

Haaland bags his first award of the season in England.

Must read

Bradley Booth
Bradley Booth is an experienced editor with a Bachelor's degree in English and a Master's degree in Publishing. He has worked on various projects across genres and is committed to helping writers achieve their goals with high-quality work delivered on time and within budget.

Manchester City striker Erling Haaland has been named the Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Player of the Year in England.

Erling Haaland broke numerous records in his first season at Manchester City, most notably the record for most goals scored in a single season in the English Premier League with 35 goals so far.

The Norwegian striker has so far scored 51 goals in all competitions with 82% of the FWA vote, the biggest margin of victory since the start of the Premier League.

Haaland became the first Manchester City player to win the Player of the Season award, according to the book, which has been awarded since 1948, as it was won by Portuguese defender Robin Diaz in the 2020-2021 season.

England’s Bukayo Saka, Arsenal’s winger, finished second, while teammate Norwegian Martin Odegaard finished third.

Belgian star Kevin De Bruyne, Manchester City playmaker, is in fourth place, followed by English striker Marcus Rushford, Manchester United striker, in fifth place.

For women, Australian striker Sam Kerr became the first player to win the Writers’ Player of the Season award twice in a row.

The Australian player received twice as many votes as England and Aston Villa star Rachel Daley, while another Chelsea player, Lauren James, came in third.

Halland and Kerr will receive their awards at the Landmark Hotel London on Thursday 25 May at a special Player of the Season Gala Dinner to mark the 75th anniversary of the award, which was first received by Sir Stanley Matthews in 1948.

“Winning the Football Writers Award in my first season in English football is a great honor for me,” Haaland said in a statement to the League. “I try to be my best every day and being recognized as such means a lot to me.”

He added: “I really enjoyed my time at City. My teammates are amazing and they give me the opportunity to score goals. I want to thank them all because without them I wouldn’t have won. this award.”

He continued: “I also owe a lot to Pep (Guardiola) and the staff here at City. Everyone has been so kind to me since I came here and I have never worked with such professionals. Thanks to everyone who voted for me. I am honored to win.” Having received this award, I am now focused on ensuring that we finish the season as strong as possible and help City win trophies.”

There are two main individual football season awards in England, one given by the Writers’ Association and the other, more important, by the Professional Footballers’ Association.

Notably, Erling Haaland (22) joined Manchester City’s ranks in the 2022 summer transfer period from Borussia Dortmund in Germany for £51m.

Source: agencies

More articles

Leave a Reply

Latest article