Friday, March 1, 2024
7.7 C
New Jersey

Saudi Arabia is honored to host the 2023 FIFA Club World Cup. Details

Must read

Bradley Booth
Bradley Booth is an experienced editor with a Bachelor's degree in English and a Master's degree in Publishing. He has worked on various projects across genres and is committed to helping writers achieve their goals with high-quality work delivered on time and within budget.

Today, Tuesday, the International Federation of Football Associations (FIFA) announced that Saudi Arabia has been honored to host the 2023 FIFA Club World Cup.

And the Saudi Arabian Football Association, through its official Twitter account, posted a “tweet” saying: “FIFA: Saudi Arabia will host the 2023 Club World Cup.”


Saudi Arabia will host the 2023 Club World Cup ????????#World _ Clubs _ in _ Saudi

– Saudi Arabia Football Federation (@saudiFF) February 14, 2023

FIFA’s official statement says that Saudi Arabia will host the next 2023 Club World Cup this year from 12 to 22 December 2023.

Saudi Arabia will become the fourth Arab country to host the FIFA Club World Cup, following the UAE, Qatar and Morocco.

The UAE has hosted the Club World Cup 5 times (2009, 2010, 2017, 2018 and 2021).

As for Morocco, it managed to host the Club World Cup three times (in 2013, 2014 and 2022).

At the same time, Qatar has twice organized the Club World Cup (in 2019 and 2020).

The last edition of the 19th FIFA Club World Cup was held in Morocco from (1 to 11) February with the participation of 8 clubs, namely: Vidad (Morocco), African Champion, Al Ahly (Egypt) and African Champions League Finalist, Auckland City (New Zealand), Oceanian Champion, Asian Champion Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia), European Champion Real Madrid (Spain), North American Champion Seattle Sounders (America) and champion of North America “Flamengo” (Brazil). ) Champion of South America “Copa Libertadores”.

Real Madrid won the last Club World Cup by beating Saudi Arabia’s Al Hilal 5-3 in the final.

Brazil’s Flamengo finished in third place after beating Egyptian club Al-Ahli 4-2.

The tournament will remain in its current system until it launches in a new form with 32 teams starting in 2025.

The current tournament system involves the participation of 7 teams competing for the title from different continents of the world.

The host country representative is the owner of the kickoff as he is the local league title holder and plays the kick off match with the Oceanian representative.

And if the representative of the host country is the champion of the continent, then the second place on that continent goes to the one who plays the opening match against the champion of Oceania, similar to the last draw of the tournament. World Cup.

Thereafter, a draw will be held to determine the composition of the teams that will compete in the second round, which will include representatives from the continents of Africa, Asia and North America, in addition to the winner of the opening match.

As for the representatives of the continents of Europe and South America, they start the tournament immediately from the semi-final round, and in the second round they are waiting for the winners of two matches.

Source: agencies

More articles

Leave a Reply

Latest article